The Right to Water: A vast human rights field

Context: Challenges and Issues

From advocacy to recognition, water is today recognized as a universal human right. However, we realize that the process that led to its concecration has been accompanied by limited or no engagement of civil society organizations. The Marrakech Forum is, in this context, an opportunity to unite around this theme, human rights, water, sustainable development, and civil society activists who are campaigning for the development and implementation of this right.

Water is considered a factor of sustainable development, determined by a triad of interaction between ecology, economy and social factors. It is also a right which contributes to the realization of other rights, including the right to life, dignity, health, food, peace, security, and a healthy environment.

The long struggle to make access to water a human right for every individual has been marred with resistance. Nevertheless, in July 2010 the UN General Assembly adopted a resolution which protected “ the right to adequate supply, physically accessible and affordable access to safe and acceptable quality of water for personal and domestic uses.”[1]

In June 1993, the World Conference on Human Rights in Vienna's highlighted the interdependence of all human rights, urging the international community to treat " human rights globally in a fair and equal manner, on the same footing, and with the same emphasis." (Article 5 of the Declaration of Principles).

Water is indeed a source of inequality. Unevenly distributed in time and space and in relation to its access: Nine "giants" water countries possess almost 60% of renewable natural resources of fresh water in the world (Brazil, Russia, Indonesia China, Canada, United States, Colombia and India); while Kuwait, Bahrain, UAE, Malta, Libya, Singapore, Jordan, Israel and Cyprus have very low resources, or virtually none.

2.4 billion people are without safe drinking water, a third of the world population; 3.6 billion use water that is "not safe" and more than 1.8 billion consume unsafe water, not to mention the daily water cuts.

A global crisis is looming, due to the decline of the water supply, the increase in demands, desertification, climate change and the constant growth in global population (9 billion by 2025). For the first time in the history of mankind, cities are more populated than the countryside. The impact on water needs and the consequences of wastewater discharges are so many on health and the environment.

Water shortages and environmental vulnerability are forcing people to migrate within their countries or abroad. According to a UN report, between 1997 and 2020, some 60 million people will migrate from the desertic areas of sub-Saharan Africa towards Northern Africa and Europe. Trans-Saharan migration to Europe is likely to continue as countries in North Africa will become increasingly regions of destination. International law is still helpless against the phenomenon of environmentally displaced people.

Water and war have become two related topics and the notion of state security includes more and more the idea of ??environmental security. The planet has 263 international river basins covering 45.3% of the land surface (excluding Antarctica) and are inhabited by more than half of the world population. One third of these 263 transboundary river basins are shared by more than two countries. Many countries also share aquifers. The 1977 Geneva Convention Protocols prohibit the use water facilities, drinking supplies and irrigation systems as a method of warfare; this prohibition is unfortunately violated in many cases.

Despite States’ efforts to supply all populations and regions with water, awareness of the global crisis and challenges related to water remain very low. Inaction and / or insufficient resources in this area lead to a deterioration in terms of balance. On the other hand, access to this basic service is a key element for sustainable development, social justice and therefore social peace.


The right to clean water: a beginning of a recognition

Civil society rejects this negative balance in terms of access to water and sanitation. However, we are gradually witnessing the recognition of the rights to water and sanitation by several resolutions, declarations at the international and / or regional levels and by national constitutions. In international human rights law access to water and sanitation are now protected as human rights. Morocco, for example, these rights are enshrined in article 31 of the July 2011 constitution.

 

These rights allow for the struggle against inequalities in access, through empowerment of states and enhancing social justice, non-discrimination, and the fight against poverty, both within states and at the level of international relations. They provide a legal tool with a "human rights” approach to achieve the 2015Millennium Development Goals, which called on the international community to reduce by 50% the number of people deprived of water and sanitation. But, according to a recent WHO report, the situation remains worrying.


Since the adoption of the abovementioned Resolution of 2010, UN human rights agencies and several new resolutions have incorporated the right to sanitation. Private corporations, users or service providers, are not at the margins of these dynamics. For each corporation, the question is no longer whether it is concerned or not with these issues, but it is how to operate in this new paradigm, which has become a decisive factor not only in competition and development, but also in social corporate responsibility.

The present challenge is to encourage all stakeholders to address the impacts of their decisions and activities on society and the environment, by adopting a transparent and ethical behavior that contribute to sustainable development, in a context where the State is required to develop appropriate rules and ways of supporting or leading by example.

Today, civil society advocacy and debate are articulated around modalities and mechanisms to ensure the effectiveness of these rights.

Objectives of the Meeting:

 

  • To federate human rights organisations, actors of sustainable development, international conferences, civil society, financial mechanisms, local authorities, academic research and the media;
  • To explain the genesis, resistance, and contexts of rights’ recognition as well as their relevant concepts;
  • To exchange information, including on legal frameworks, constitutionalisation process, best practices and the roles of the international community;
  • To discuss implementation mechanisms, justiciability, financing and solidarity-based finance, effective governance, and relevant links between international, national and local levels;
  • To debate ways to integrate these new rights into sectoral policies and their commun consistency;
  • To promote corporate social responsibility;
  • To raise awareness / capacity building of media, youth, the judicial system;
  • To mobilize partnership, cooperation, solidarity and networking.

Expected Results

  • Produce a report which summarizes the whole debate, including recommendations;
  • Launch a “ Marrakech Appeal” for the effectiveness of the rights to water and sanitation;
  • Capitalize on the outcome of the Forum to increase networking.

Faire du droit à l’eau un vaste champ pour les droits de l’Homme

Le contexte : défis et enjeux

De la revendication à la consécration, l’eau est désormais érigée en droit de l’Homme. A l’observation, on réalise que le processus qui a mené à cette reconnaissance n’a pas été accompagné par les composantes de la société civile œuvrant pour les droits de l’Homme ou alors de manière marginale. C’est pourquoi le Forum de Marrakech est une opportunité pour fédérer autour de ce thème les acteurs des droits de l’Homme, de l’eau, du développement durable, de la société civile et des conférences internationales qui œuvrent en faveur de la mise en œuvre de ces droits.

L’eau est ainsi considérée comme un facteur du développement durable, que détermine le triptyque écologie, économie et social qui interagissent à leur tour avec cette ressource. C’est aussi un droit qui contribue à la réalisation d’autres droits : droit à la vie, à la dignité, à la santé, à la nourriture, à la paix, à la sécurité, à un environnement sain, etc.

Le long combat pour faire de l’eau un droit pour chaque individu n’a pas été sans résistance ; il a néanmoins abouti en juillet 2010 à l'adoption de la Résolution de l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies qui consacre le "droit à un approvisionnement suffisant, physiquement accessible et à un coût abordable d'une eau salubre et de qualité acceptable pour les usages personnels et domestiques de chacun".

En juin 1993, La Conférence mondiale sur les droits de L'Homme de Vienne avait mis en exergue l’interdépendance entre tous les droits de l'Homme, invitant la communauté internationale à les traiter «globalement, de manière équitable et équilibrée, sur un pied d'égalité et en leur accordant la même importance» (article 5 de la Déclaration de principes).

L’eau est de fait source d’inégalités. Inégalement répartie dans le temps et dans l’espace et par rapport à son accès : Neuf pays "géants" de l'eau se partagent près de 60 % des ressources naturelles renouvelables d'eau douce du monde (Brésil, Fédération de Russie, Indonésie, Chine, Canada, Etats-Unis, Colombie et Inde) Alors que le Koweït, le Bahreïn, les Emirats Arabes Unis, Malte, la Libye, Singapour, la Jordanie, Israël et Chypre disposent de ressources extrêmement faibles, voire quasi nulles.

2,4 milliards de personnes sont privées d’eau potable, soit un tiers de la population mondiale ; 3,6 milliards d'humains utilisent une eau "qui n'est pas sûre" et plus de 1,8 milliard consomment une eau insalubre, sans compter les coupures d'eau quotidiennes.

Une crise globale se profile, en raison d’une offre qui baisse, les demandes qui augmentent et se diversifient, des changements climatiques et à une population mondiale en progression (9 milliards à l’horizon 2025). Pour la première fois dans l’histoire de l’humanité, les villes sont plus peuplées que les campagnes. Les répercussions sur les besoins en eau et les conséquences des rejets des eaux usées sont multiples sur la santé et l’environnement.

Les pénuries d’eau et la vulnérabilité environnementale poussent les populations à migrer à l’intérieur du pays ou à l’étranger. Selon un rapport de l’ONU, entre 1997 et 2020, quelque 60 millions de personnes quitteront les zones désertifiées de l’Afrique sub-saharienne pour gagner le Maghreb et l’Europe. La migration transsaharienne vers l'Europe se maintiendra probablement alors que les pays d’Afrique du nord se transformeront de plus en plus en des pays de destination. Le droit international est toujours démuni face au phénomène des déplacés environnementaux.

L'eau et la guerre deviennent deux sujets associés et la notion de sécurité des États englobe de plus en plus l’idée de sécurité environnementale. La planète compte 263 bassins hydrographiques internationaux qui recouvrent 45,3 % de la surface terrestre (Antarctique exclu) et qui sont habités par plus de la moitié de la population humaine. Un tiers de ces 263 bassins hydrographiques transfrontières sont communs à plus de deux pays. De nombreux pays se partagent également les aquifères. Les Protocoles des Conventions de Genève de 1977 interdisent d'utiliser comme méthode de guerre les installations et alimentations d'eau de boisson, ainsi que les systèmes d'irrigation, interdiction malheureusement bravée dans de nombreux cas.

Malgré les efforts des États à approvisionner toutes les populations et les régions en eau, la prise de conscience de la crise globale et des enjeux liés à l’eau reste très insuffisante.

L’inaction et/ou les moyens insuffisants en la matière entraînent une détérioration des termes de l’équilibre. Par contre, l’accessibilité à ce service de base constitue un vecteur essentiel de développement durable, de justice sociale et par conséquent de paix sociale.

Le droit à l’eau saine : une amorce de consécration

La société civile refuse ce bilan négatif en termes d’accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement et on assiste progressivement à l’adoption du droit à l’eau de manière spécifique par plusieurs actes, déclarations et conventions internationales et/ou régionales ainsi qu’au niveau national par les constitutions. Dans la législation internationale relative aux droits de l’Homme, ils sont désormais protégés comme droit de l’Homme. Le Maroc par exemple l’a consacré dans l’article 31 de la constitution de juillet 2011.

Ces droits permettent de lutter contre les inégalités d’accès en responsabilisant les Etats et renforcent la justice sociale, la non discrimination, la lutte contre la pauvreté tant à l’intérieur des Etats qu’au niveau des relations internationales. Ils offrent un outil juridique, avec une approche « droits de l’Homme », pour atteindre les Objectifs de Développement pour le Millénaire, qui ont invité la communauté internationale à diminuer à l’horizon 2015 de moitié le nombre de personnes qui n’ont pas accès à l’eau et à l’assainissement. Mais selon un rapport récent de l’OMS, la situation reste inquiétante.

Depuis l’adoption de la Résolution précitée de 2010, les institutions onusiennes œuvrent en faveur de ces droits et plusieurs nouvelles résolutions ont intégré le droit à l’assainissement.

L'entreprise, utilisatrice ou gestionnaire du service, ne reste pas en marge de ces dynamiques. Pour chaque entreprise, la question n’est plus de savoir si elle est concernée ou pas, mais comment exister avec ce nouveau paradigme, devenu un facteur déterminant de compétitivité, de développement mais aussi d’approche citoyenne.

L’enjeu du moment consiste à encourager toutes les parties prenantes à tenir compte des impacts de ses décisions et de ses activités sur la société et sur l’environnement, en adoptant un comportement transparent et éthique qui contribue au développement durable, dans un contexte où l'Etat appelé à élaborer une réglementation pertinente et des modalités appropriées d'accompagnement, voire en donnant l'exemple.

Le plaidoyer de la société civile et la réflexion s’articulent aujourd’hui autour des modalités et des mécanismes pouvant garantir l’effectivité de ces droits.

Objectifs du forum thématique

  • Fédérer les Organisations des droits de l’Homme, les acteurs du développement durable, des conférences internationales, de la société civile, des mécanismes financiers, les pouvoirs locaux, la recherche et les médias ;
  • Expliquer la genèse, les résistances et les contextes de l’adoption de ces droits et les aspects conceptuels ;
  • Echanger des informations notamment sur les référentiels juridiques, le processus de constitutionnalisation, les bonnes pratiques et les rôles de la communauté internationale ;
  • Discuter des mécanismes de mise en œuvre, de la justiciabilité, du financement et des financements solidaires, de la gouvernance effective et des articulations pertinentes entre les niveaux international, national et local ?
  • Débattre sur comment intégrer ces nouveaux droits dans les politiques sectorielles et de la mise en cohérence ;
  • Promouvoir la responsabilité sociétale des entreprises ;
  • Renforcer la sensibilisation/renforcement des capacités des médias, des jeunes, du système judiciaire ;
  • Se mobiliser en faveur des partenariats, de la coopération, de la solidarité et des mises en réseau ;

Résultats attendus

  • Elaborer d’un rapport qui synthétise l’ensemble du processus et en tire les recommandations ;
  • Lancer un « l’Appel de Marrakech pour l’effectivité des droits à l’eau et à l’assainissement » ;
  • Capitaliser sur les résultats du Forum pour renforcer la mise en réseau.