Disability and Human Rights

The World Report on Disability developed in 2011 by the World Health Organization (WHO) and the World Bank stipulates that disability affects 15% of the world population. Several international and regional studies state that the majority of the population continues to live in unfavorable conditions for fundamental rights. Thus, the global report confirms that people with disabilities in low-income countries "have a higher risk of 50% compared to those without disabilities"

Handicap situations are characterized by uncertainty and the multiple barriers faced by those affected and their families. These barriers are political, legislative, financial; again the lack of reliable data and inadequate services exacerbate discrimination against persons with disabilities .

According to the report prepared by UNICEF in 2013 on the situation of children with disabilities in the world, "about 93 million children live with a type of moderate or severe disability"

To grant rights for persons with disabilities is a major challenge. This is a telling measure of the ability of societies to take into account the diversity of all constituent groups. Around the world, people with disabilities have a long history of discrimination, exclusion and invisibility. This discrimination is the result of cultural perceptions and social organization based on individual model of disability which does not recognize diversity as a condition inherent to humanity.

The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) played a prominent role in promoting the human rights of persons with disabilities. However, despite the willingness of countries to ratify the Convention, its implementation often experiences delays. Unlike the northern countries where the need for the protection of human rights is rooted, developing countries often face priorities that do not include the disability dimension.

This instrument of Human Rights enshrines the full participation of persons with disabilities and enjoyment of all human rights, making citizenship an unwavering corollary. The Convention also enshrines the devices able to make effective the rights of persons with disabilities in their diversity. Management of public affairs becomes a law under which people with disabilities should not be excluded, either as voters or as elected officials.

In this respect, international human rights, including the Convention, are important for people with disabilities including their political participation in the life of the community, which must be significantly strengthened.

The implementation of public policies to guarantee the rights of persons with disabilities, requires tools of systematic data collection, able to provide quantitative and qualitative information on the experience and the cost of disability.

The role of monitoring public policies and budgets up to organizations of persons with disabilities and their families. It can only be achieved by the establishment of instances where the involvement of these is imperative. Currently, the number of countries with these instruments is limited. The question emerges of duality with national institutions for human rights, hence the need to develop an integrated common vision and develop guidelines for efficient monitoring.

Recognizing the lack of implementation of the international law of human rights and persistent multiple barriers, the international community has stepped up efforts to explain and promote the provisions of the CRPD. The past two years, it has devoted its discussion around the MDGs post-2015. The review of related indicators revealed that "mainstreaming" of disability in development is a priority, because of the correlation between disability and poverty.

The ongoing negotiations on the future objectives of the MDGs in this regard are an important issue, which should mobilize governments, the UN system and disability organizations in order to ensure better protection of the rights of persons with disabilities.

Despite the efforts made ??to preserve the rights of women and the adoption of legislation in many countries, the issue of disabled women remains obscured, as confirmed by the General Comment No. 18 of the CEDAW Committee . The fight for women with disabilities to make their case needs to be strengthened in many countries. From this point of view, the role of different stakeholders is essential.

Whatever the nature of the disability (physical, visual, hearing or mental), accessibility must be guaranteed to persons with disabilities and concerns different areas: education, higher education and professional employment, work adapted and sheltered employment, built environment, transport , new technologies, ... universal adaptation should be appropriate; or the means for its effectiveness are far from meeting the needs of disabled people and to ensure their independence.

The MFHR stands six years after the entry into force of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Gathering NHRI governments, UN mechanisms, organizations of disabled people and their families and civil society, this forum is a real opportunity for an interdisciplinary and comprehensive approach to the rights of persons with disabilities in all scheduled activities. It is also an opportunity to bring together all stakeholders to enforce those rights.

While calling for a of mainstreaming of disability issues, we intend to devote a thematic forum on disability rights, and thus promote the inclusion of people with disabilities.

The theme forum aims to address the following issues:

. International mechanisms;

. Public policy and disability; What safeguards and access to rights?

· Society and perceptions of disability;

· Disability and universal design: buildings, services, transportation and communication;

· Disability and rights to training, education;

· Civil society and disability;

· Disability and Political Rights

· Disability and right to work and businesses;

. Data collection.

Handicap et droits de l’Homme

Le rapport mondial sur le handicap élaboré en 2011 par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) et la banque mondiale affirme que le handicap concerne 15% de la population mondiale. D’après plusieurs études des instances internationales et régionales, la majorité de cette population continue de vivre dans des conditions défavorables en matière des droits fondamentaux. Ainsi, le rapport mondial confirme que les personnes handicapées dans les pays à faible revenu « ont un risque supérieur de 50 %, par rapport à la population sans handicap »

Les situations de handicap sont caractérisées par la précarité et la multiplicité des barrières auxquelles font face les personnes concernées et leurs familles. Ces barrières sont d’ordre politique, législatif, financier ; de plus le manque de données fiables et l’insuffisance des services accentuent les discriminations à l’égard des personnes en situation de handicap (PESH).

Selon le rapport élaboré par l’UNICEF en 2013 sur la situation des enfants handicapés dans le monde, « environ 93 millions d’enfants vivent avec un type de handicap modéré ou grave »

Rendre effectifs les droits des personnes en situation de handicap est un défi majeur. C’est un révélateur pour mesurer la capacité des sociétés à prendre en compte la diversité de tous les groupes qui la composent. De par le monde, les personnes en situation de handicap ont connu une longue histoire de discrimination, d’exclusion et d’invisibilité. Cette discrimination est la résultante des perceptions culturelles et d’une organisation sociale basée sur la vision individuelle du handicap qui ne reconnaît pas la diversité comme condition inhérente à l’humanité.

La Convention Internationale des droits des personnes handicapées (CPDH) a joué un rôle éminent dans la promotion des droits humain des personnes handicapées. Cependant, malgré l’empressement des Etats à la ratification de cette convention, sa mise en œuvre connaît souvent un retard. A la différence des pays du nord où l’impératif de la protection des droits de l’homme est ancré, les pays en développement font souvent face à des priorités qui n’intègrent pas la dimension handicap.

Cet instrument de droits de l’Homme consacre la pleine participation des PESH et leur jouissance de tous les droits, faisant ainsi de la citoyenneté un corolaire inébranlable. La Convention consacre également les dispositifs à même de rendre effectifs les droits des PESH dans leur diversité. La gestion de la chose publique devient ainsi un droit duquel les personnes handicapées ne devraient pas être exclus, que ce soit en tant qu’électeurs ou en tant qu’élus.

A cet égard, les instruments internationaux des droits de l'Homme, et notamment la Convention, revêtent une grande importance pour les personnes handicapées et notamment leur participation politique à la vie de la communauté, qui doit être significativement renforcée.

La mise en place des politiques publiques en mesure de garantir les droits des personnes handicapées, nécessite des outils de collecte systématique des données, en mesure de fournir des informations quantitatives et qualitatives sur le vécu et le coût du handicap.

Le rôle de suivi des politiques et des budgets publics incombe aux organisations de personnes en situation de handicap et leurs familles. Il ne peut se concrétiser que par la mise en place d’instances où l’implication de ces derniers est impérative. Actuellement, le nombre de pays disposant de ces instruments est limité. Là où ils existent, émerge la question de la dualité avec les institutions nationales des droits de l’Homme, d’où la nécessité de développer une vision commune intégrée et développer des lignes directives permettant un suivi efficient.

Consciente de l’insuffisance de mise en œuvre du droit international des droits de l’Homme et de la persistance des multiples barrières, la communauté internationale a multiplié les actions en vue d’expliquer et promouvoir les dispositions de la CDPH. Ces deux dernières années, elle a consacré ses débats autour des OMD post-2015. L’examen des indicateurs y afférents a révélé que « le mainstreaming » du handicap dans le développement est une priorité, en raison de la corrélation qui existe entre handicap et pauvreté.

Les négociations en cours sur les objectifs futurs des OMD sont à cet égard un enjeu important, qui devraient mobiliser les Etats, le système de Nations unies et les organisations des personnes handicapées, en vue de garantir une meilleure protection des droits des PESH.

En dépit des efforts consentis pour la préservation des droits des femmes et de l’adoption de textes de lois dans beaucoup de pays, la question de la femme handicapée reste occultée, comme l’a confirmé l’Observation générale N° 18 du Comité CEDAW. Le combat des femmes handicapées pour faire valoir leur cause reste à renforcer dans beaucoup de pays. De ce point de vue, le rôle des différentes parties prenantes est essentiel.

Quelle que soit la nature du handicap (moteur, visuel, auditif ou mental), l’accessibilité doit être garantie aux personnes handicapées et concerne différents domaines : scolarité, enseignement supérieur et professionnel, emploi, travail adapté et travail protégé, cadre bâti, transports, nouvelles technologies, … L’adaptation universelle devrait être de mise ; or les moyens employés pour son effectivité sont loin de répondre aux besoins des personnes handicapées et de garantir leur autonomie.

Le FMDH se tient six ans après l’entrée en vigueur de la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées. Rassemblant INDH, gouvernements, mécanismes des Nations unies, organisations des personnes handicapées et de leurs familles et organisations de la société civile, ce forum est une réelle opportunité pour une approche transversale et globale des droits des PESH dans l’ensemble des activités programmées. Il est aussi l’occasion de réunir l’ensemble toutes les parties prenantes pour faire valoir ces droits.

Tout en appelant à une prise en compte transversale de la question du handicap, nous nous proposons de consacrer un forum thématique aux droits des personnes handicapées, et d’assurer ainsi la promotion de l’inclusion des personnes handicapées.

Le forum thématique se propose d’aborder les thématiques suivantes :

  1. Mécanismes internationaux ;
  2. Politiques publiques et handicaps ; quelles mesures de protection et d'accès aux droits ?
  3. Société et perceptions de l'handicap ;
  4. Handicap et accessibilité universelle : bâtiments, services, transports et communication ;
  5. Handicap et droits à la formation, à l'éducation ;
  6. Société civile et handicap ;
  7. Handicap et droits politiques
  8. Handicap et droit au travail : entreprises et ;
  9. La collecte des données.