Citizen security and the protection of human rights

The protection of human rights is a central concern for the development of national security policies, particularly in times of transition and conflict. Our objective with this thematic forum is to contribute to the development of a security doctrine that would place citizens and their fundamental rights at the centre of security discussions. In this sense, the working group would analyse the evolution of violent conflict and the use of force by security forces, building on the continuing debate on human security and using a perspective that could be called citizen security.

The prevailing trend in conflicts is toward fewer inter-state conflicts and potentially more intrastate conflicts, often with external actors playing an important role. Wars among states are unlikely in the present international environment. According to a recent leading foresight report, “Global Trends 2030 - Citizens in an Interconnected and Polycentric World”,[1] wars fuelled by nationalism and extremist identity politics, and the associated dangers of mass murder and genocide, will be the core security challenges of the coming decades. Criminal networks and populist nationalist movements will tend to make states more vulnerable. Terrorism will remain a concern, but low-intensity conflicts such as urban violence will also require increased attention. This trend represents a major threat to human rights since it places civilians as the main victims of conflict. These trends are reinforced by the evolution of the military doctrine of many states that gives priority to the use of air power and drones, which can decrease the number of their own soldiers killed but increases the number of civilians killed.

Citizens are also seeing their fundamental rights violated and their lives threatened by military and security forces in the context of internal political conflicts, often when the military are in power, with excessive force used against those demonstrating for their rights. This problem is particularly grave in authoritarian states when those who feel threatened by demonstrating citizens can respond with violence.

Terrorist acts also constitute a threat to human rights. Paradoxically, however, the fight against terrorism has also become also a major concern for the protection of fundamental rights and justice. States and security forces around the world have committed grave violations of human rights in the name of fighting terrorism.

Internal conflicts such as those in Syria, Sudan or Ukraine are the main threat to human rights, as these situations can involve the mass murder of civilians, the use of torture against prisoners, the internal displacement of civilian populations and the creation of refuges crises.

To face such formidable new challenges to human rights, the international community has been shown to lack the will or the capacity to respond.

In the 1990s, during the multilateralist period that followed the end of the Cold War, the protection of civilians and the introduction of human rights concerns into military missions became priorities. Progress, however, was limited and came to be challenged during the unilateralist period at the beginning of the 21st century. It has been slow to recover.

Progress in the 1990s notably included the debate on the responsibility to protect (R2P) and the creation of the International Criminal Court and specialized tribunals for the Bosnian and Rwandan conflicts. These bodies, however, are limited by the scope of the conflicts that they can engage with unless requested by the UN Security Council, while the principle of R2P suffered greatly with the intervention in Libya. The development of military doctrine involving a dimension of peacekeeping, which must include a dimension of human rights, has become a priority for some states, while others still consider war and extreme violence as a legitimate continuation of politics by other means.

The main topics of the working group would be:

  • Identification of the main challenges to human rights that may come from violent conflicts, using trends analysis;
  • Analysis of public policies to address them;
  • The protection of human rights in the context of modern warfare, dealing with questions such as extra–judicial killings and the use of drones;
  • The protection of refugees from violent conflicts;
  • Relations among political, military and security forces in the context of democratic transitions;
  • The links between security and justice in the fight against terrorism;
  • The potential of current international conventions to protect human rights in the context of violent conflicts and analysis of implementation mechanisms;
  • The effectiveness of UN institutions in the protection of human rights in the context of violent conflicts;
  • The principles of Responsibility to Protect (R2P);
  • Human rights in the context of peacekeeping and peace enforcement operations;
  • A review of global trends in conflicts and security to develop a doctrine for citizen security that would coherently integrate way human rights.

 

Organisers

Arab Reform Initiative (ARI)

Centre d'Etudes et de Recherches en Sciences Sociales (CERSS) , Morocco

Centro de Investigação Interdisciplinar em Direitos Humanos (DH-CII), da Universidade do Minho, Portugal

Instituto de Relações Internacionais da Universidade de São Paulo (IRI-USP), Brazil

[1] ‘Global Trends 2030 - Citizens in an Interconnected and Polycentric World’ was produced in 2011 as part of the European Strategy and Policy Analysis System (ESPAS), http://europa.eu/espas/pdf/espas_report_ii_01_en.pdf

La sécurité des citoyens et la protection des droits de l'Homme

La protection des droits de l'homme constitue une préoccupation majeure lors de l'élaboration de politiques nationales de sécurité, en particulier durant les périodes de transition et de conflit. L'objectif de ce forum thématique est de contribuer à l'élaboration d'une doctrine de sécurité qui mettrait les citoyens et leurs droits fondamentaux au cœur des discussions sur la sécurité. Dans ce sens, les participant-e-s analyseraient l'évolution des conflits violents et l'usage de la force par les forces de sécurité, en s'appuyant sur le débat actuel sur ??la sécurité humaine selon une perspective que l'on pourrait appeler « la sécurité des citoyens ».

La tendance qui prévaut dans les conflits est orientée vers une diminution de conflits interétatiques, et potentiellement vers une intensification de conflits intra-étatiques, souvent avec des acteurs externes jouant un rôle important. Dans le contexte international, les guerres entre Etats sont désormais peu probables. Selon un récent rapport, («Tendances mondiales 2030 - Les citoyens dans un monde interconnecté et polycentrique)[1] , les guerres alimentées par le nationalisme, l’extrémisme identitaire et les dangers associés aux meurtres de masse et aux génocides, seront les défis de sécurité majeurs des prochaines décennies. Les réseaux criminels et les mouvements nationalistes-populistes tendront à accentuer la vulnérabilité des États. Le terrorisme demeurera une préoccupation, mais les conflits à faible intensité, telle que la violence urbaine, nécessiteront une attention accrue. Cette tendance représente une menace majeure pour les droits de l'Homme, et place les civils en situation de principales victimes des conflits. Ces tendances sont renforcées par l'évolution de la doctrine militaire de nombreux Etats qui privilégient l'usage de la force aérienne et des drones, réduisant ainsi les pertes parmi leurs soldats et augmentant le nombre de civils tués.

Dans le contexte de conflits politiques internes, les citoyens voient également leurs droits fondamentaux bafoués et leur vies menacées par les forces militaires et de sécurité et ce souvent lorsque les militaires sont au pouvoir et usent de la force excessive à l'encontre de ceux qui manifestent pour leurs droits. Ce problème est particulièrement alarmant dans les États autoritaires au sein desquels ceux qui se sentent menacés démontrent qu’ils peuvent répondre par la violence.

Les actes terroristes sont également une menace pour les droits de l'Homme ; de même, les combattre est paradoxalement devenu une préoccupation majeure pour la protection des droits fondamentaux et une bonne administration de la justice. Les Etats et les forces de sécurité à travers le monde ont commis de graves violations des droits de l'Homme au nom de la lutte contre le terrorisme.

Les conflits internes comme c’est le cas en Syrie, au Soudan ou en Ukraine constituent aussi une grave l menace pour les droits de l'Homme, puisqu’ils engendrent des situations pouvant entraîner le massacre de civils, le recours à la torture contre les détenus, le déplacement interne des populations et par conséquent, le déclenchement de crises humanitaires.

Face à ces nouveaux défis qui constituent une menace pour les droits humains, la communauté internationale a fait preuve d’un manque de volonté et d’un déficit manifeste de capacité de réaction.

Au cours des années 1990, la période du multilatéralisme qui a succédé à la fin de la guerre froide a fait de la protection des civils et des droits humains dans les missions militaires une priorité. Remise en question au cours de la période unilatérale du début du 21ème siècle cette avancée s’affirme à nouveau.

Les progrès réalisés durant les années 1990 comprennent notamment la mise en place de la Cour pénale internationale et des tribunaux spéciaux (Bosnie et Rwanda) Cependant, le pouvoir de ces instances demeure limité par la portée des conflits dans lesquels elles s’engagent, à moins que la requête n’émane du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies. L’évolution des doctrines militaires impliquant une dimension de maintien de la paix est réduite aux opérations de l’Union européenne et des Nations unies et n’est pas devenue une priorité pour la plupart des Etats qui continuent de considérer la guerre et la violence comme un prolongement légitime de l’exercice politique.

Les principales problématiques du forum thématique sont :

- L’identification des principaux enjeux pour les droits de l’Homme pouvant provenir des conflits violents de la phase actuelle ;

- L’analyse des politiques publiques pour y faire face ;

- La protection des droits de l'Homme dans le contexte de la guerre moderne (exécutions extrajudiciaires, usage de drones, etc.) ;

- La protection des réfugiés des conflits ;

- Les liens entre politique, sécurité et forces militaires dans le cadre d’une transition démocratique ;

- Les liens entre sécurité et justice dans la lutte contre le terrorisme ;

- L’analyse des mécanismes de mise en œuvre des conventions internationales de protection des droits de l'Homme dans le contexte de conflits violents ;

- L'efficacité des institutions de l'ONU dans la protection des droits de l'Homme dans le contexte des conflits violents;

- Le principe de la responsabilité de protéger ;

- Une étude des tendances mondiales des conflits et de la sécurité pour développer une doctrine pour « la sécurité des citoyens » qui intègre la dimension des droits de l'Homme de manière cohérente.

 

Organisateurs

Arab Reform Initiative (ARI), Paris

Centre d'Etudes et de Recherches en Sciences Sociales (CERSS), Rabat

Instituto de Relações Internacionais da Universidade de São Paulo (IRI-USP), Sao Paulo

Centro de Investigação Interdisciplinar em Direitos Humanos (DH-CII), Université de Minho

 

[1] [1] Global Trends 2030 - Citizens in an Interconnected and Polycentric World’ was produced in 2011 as part of the European Strategy and Policy Analysis System (ESPAS), http://europa.eu/espas/pdf/espas_report_ii_01_en.pdf