The abolition of the death penalty, a universal dynamic

The universal advocacy for the abolition of the death penalty is on the move. Today, more than two-thirds of the world's states have waived the execution of the death sentence and are de jure or de facto abolitionists. 98 countries have renounced the penalty for all crimes, while only 16 had abandoned it forty years ago.

The worldwide trend towards abolition of the death penalty has accelerated in the last decade, thanks to the emergence and consolidation of a dynamic global abolitionist movement which has associated and coordinated efforts by governments, international organizations and civil society, towards achieving the ultimate goal, that of living in a world free from the death penalty.

The World Coalition Against the Death Penalty (WCADP), represented by 155 associations, is working to bring all countries which have not yet abolished the death penalty to ratify the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights concerning the abolition of the death penalty (OP2), and to adopt criminal laws free from death penalty, or in line with international standards on the death penalty. The Coalition I working for the encouragement of governments to support UN General Assembly resolutions on the establishment of a universal moratorium on executions. A new vote is scheduled for December 2014.

This universal movement for the abolition of the death penalty is also demonstrated by the organisation, since 2000, of regional and international congresses against the death penalty, under the aegis of “Together against the death penalty”, the “World Day against the Death Penalty” on 10 October at the initiative of the World Coalition, and the annual event "Cities for Life" organized by Sant'Egidio on November 30.

However, despite progress, many challenges remain.

In Morocco, the abolitionist dynamics has gradually advanced through the existence of structured networks gathered in the Moroccan Coalition against the Death Penalty (CMCPM), and parliamentarians and lawyers networks against death penalty recently formed. This dynamic is strongly supported by the National Council for Human Rights (CNDH) whose abolitionist’s opinion is solemnly expressed.

This movement continues to advocate for the ratification of OP2 by the government, reform the criminal legislation for abolition and institutionalization of the facto moratorium on executions and by supporting the UN efforts for the establishment of a universal moratorium on executions.

The holding of the Second Global Forum on Human Rights is a new opportunity, for abolitionists at global, regional and national level, to coordinate their efforts, inform the public debate, develop common strategies, strengthen the capacity of actors, exchange best practices, and initiate demands to finally achieve abolition.

In parallel, the Steering Committee of the World Coalition against the Death Penalty will held a meeting and a North African Coalition against the Death Penalty will be officially launched.

L’abolition de la peine de mort, une dynamique universelle

L’abolition universelle de la peine de mort est en marche. Aujourd’hui, plus des deux-tiers des Etats dans le monde renoncent à l’exécution de cette peine et sont abolitionnistes de jure ou de fait. 98 pays ont renoncé à cette peine pour tous les crimes, alors que seuls 16 l’avaient fait il y a quarante ans.

La tendance mondiale vers l’abolition s’est surtout accélérée cette dernière décennie, grâce à l’émergence et au renforcement d’un mouvement abolitionniste mondial dynamique qui a pu associer et coordonner les efforts des Etats, des organisations internationales et de la société civile, pour avancer vers la réalisation de l’objectif ultime, celui de vivre dans un monde débarrassé de la peine de mort.

Incarné par les 155 associations composant la Coalition mondiale contre la peine de mort, ce mouvement abolitionniste œuvre pour amener tous les pays n’ayant pas encore aboli cette peine à ratifier le deuxième Protocole facultatif se rapportant au Pacte international des droits civils et politiques concernant l’abolition de la peine de mort (OP2), à adopter des législations pénales exemptes de la peine capitale, ou conformes aux normes internationales relatives à la peine de mort. La Coalition agit aussi pour encourager les gouvernements à soutenir les résolutions de l’Assemblée générale des Nations unies relatives à l’instauration d’un moratoire universel sur les exécutions. Un nouveau vote est d’ailleurs prévu en décembre 2014.

Ce mouvement universel pour l’abolition est aussi illustré par la tenue, depuis 2000, de congrès régionaux et internationaux contre la peine de mort, sous l’égide d’Ensemble contre la peine de mort, par la Journée mondiale contre la peine de mort célébrée le 10 octobre à l’initiative de la Coalition mondiale et par l’événement « Cities for life » qu’organise chaque année Sant’Egidio le 30 novembre.

Cependant, en dépit des progrès constatés, de nombreux défis restent à relever.

Au Maroc, la dynamique abolitionniste avance progressivement grâce à l’existence d’un mouvement structuré, regroupé au sein de la Coalition marocaine contre la peine de mort (CMCPM), un Réseau de Parlementaires et un Réseau d’avocat-e-s contre la peine de mort récemment créés. Cette dynamique est fortement soutenue par le Conseil national des droits de l’homme (CNDH) dont les positions abolitionnistes sont solennellement exprimées.

Ce mouvement continue d’agir pour amener le pays à ratifier l’OP2, à réformer sa législation pénale en vue de l’abolition et aussi institutionnaliser le moratoire de fait en soutenant les efforts onusiens en vue de l’instauration d’un moratoire universel sur les exécutions.

La tenue du deuxième Forum mondial des droits de l’Homme est une nouvelle opportunité qui s’offre aux acteurs abolitionnistes au niveau mondial, régional et national, pour coordonner leurs efforts, alimenter les débats publics, développer des stratégies communes, renforcer les capacités des acteurs, échanger les bonnes pratiques, lancer des appels, pour, enfin, parvenir à l’abolition.

En parallèle, le Comité de pilotage de la Coalition mondiale contre la peine de mort tiendra une réunion et une Coalition maghrébine contre la peine de mort sera officiellement lancée.

Ce Forum thématique est proposé par le mouvement abolitionniste marocain (Coalition marocaine contre la peine de mort, Réseau des parlementaires contre la peine de mort au Maroc, Réseau des avocates et avocats contre la peine de mort) en partenariat avec la Coalition mondiale contre la peine de mort (WCADP) et Ensemble contre la peine de mort (ECPM).