National Criminal Law and the Statute of the International Criminal Court

The International Criminal Court has become a fundamental challenge for activists in international human rights law and international humanitarian law and a favorite theme for lawyers in general and criminal lawyers in particular.

This interest for the Court is justified by an international context characterized by the frequency of violations of these rights.

Although seen as a mechanism of repression of serious violations of international humanitarian law and of the fight against impunity, the debate on the ICC should not overshadow the risk of "politicization" of its action, which some countries accuse of selectivity.

If the ratification or accession to the Rome Statute are in themselves a major challenge, several states are still reluctant to take that step. This reluctance is often due to constitutional, legal or political considerations. Based on this observation, the adaptation of national legislation with the provisions of the ICC Statute is a crucial step to ensure complementarity between the ICC and national courts. It is clear from the provisions of the preamble and of Articles 1 and 17 of the Rome Statute that failure of adaptation may result in situations of overriding of national jurisdiction, as is the case of Darfur and Libya.

Also, the issue of adaptation of national legislation with the provisions of the Statute of the International Criminal Court should be treated independently of the decision of ratification or accession to the Rome Statute. In fact, the adaptation of legislation will ensure the ICC complementarity with national courts. This applies to all countries regardless of their treaty status under the Rome Statute.

Based on these elements, the provisions to be adapted are both procedural and substantive.

The Procedural Provisions

These provisions relate to individual criminal responsibility, the provisions relating to assistance to crimes under international humanitarian law and provisions of grace and prescription, keeping in mind that these provisions stem from a special regime which derogates from common law.

The Substantive Provisions

These provisions relate to crimes of genocide, crimes against humanity, war crimes and the crime of aggression.

The thematic forum will discuss different scenarios for adapting the national criminal legislation to the Rome Statute, namely:

• The inclusion of appropriate provisions in the Criminal Code;

• The enactment of legislation designed by a specific law for the sake of legal consistency.

The issue of arbitration between these options will also be discussed.

The thematic forum will also discuss comparative laws namely Arab and European laws. Particular attention will be given to the typical Arab bill of adaptation of national criminal legislation with international humanitarian law.

These are the main issues around which revolve the forum’s work.

Participants in the forum include:

• Councillor Mohammed Amin Mehdi, former judge of the International Criminal Tribunal for former Yugoslavia, former Minister of the Transitional Justice and Parliamentary Affairs (Egypt)

• General-Dr Mohannad Hijazi, Director of Military Justice of the Kingdom of Jordan and a member of the International Commission of International Humanitarian Law.

• Dr. Cherif Atlam, President of the Court of Appeal and honorary expert in international humanitarian law with the International Committee of the Red Cross.

• And Professor Mohammed Abdennabaoui, Director of Public Affairs and Grace. (Morocco)

Législation pénale nationale et statut de la Cour pénale internationale

La Cour pénale internationale est devenue un enjeu fondamental pour les acteurs du droit international des droits de l’Homme et du droit international humanitaire et une thématique de prédilection pour les juristes en général et les pénalistes en particulier.

Cet intérêt pour la Cour est justifié par un contexte international caractérisé par la fréquence des violations de ces droits.

Perçue comme un mécanisme de répression des violations graves du droit international humanitaire et de lutte contre l’impunité, Néanmoins, le débat sur la CPI  ne doit pas occulter les risques de « politisation » de son action que certains pays l’accusent de sélectivité.

Si la ratification ou l’adhésion au statut de Rome constituent en soi un enjeu de taille, plusieurs Etats hésitent encore à franchir ce pas. Cette hésitation est souvent due à des considérations constitutionnelles, juridiques ou politiques. Partant de ce constat, l’adaptation de la législation nationale avec les dispositions du statut de la CPI constitue une étape cruciale pour garantir la complémentarité entre la CPI et les juridictions nationales. Il ressort de la lecture des dispositions du préambule ainsi que des articles 1er et 17 du statut de Rome que le défaut d’adaptation peut générer des situations de retrait de compétence des juridictions nationales, comme c’est le cas du Darfour et de la Lybie.  

Aussi, la question de l’adaptation de la législation nationale avec les dispositions du statut de la Cour pénale internationale doit être traitée indépendamment de la décision de ratification ou d’adhésion au statut de Rome. L’adaptation de la législation assurera, en effet, la complémentarité de la CPI avec les juridictions nationales. Ceci est valable pour tous les pays indépendamment de leur situation conventionnelle au regard du statut de Rome.  

Partant de ces éléments, les dispositions à adapter sont à la fois procédurales et matérielles.

Les dispositions procédurales 

Ces dispositions portent sur la responsabilité pénale individuelle, les dispositions relatives au concours aux crimes relevant du droit international humanitaire ainsi que les dispositions relatives à la grâce et à la prescription, sachant que ces dispositions relèvent d’un régime spécial qui déroge au droit commun.

Les dispositions matérielles 

Ces dispositions concernent les crimes de génocide, les crimes contre l’humanité, les crimes de guerre et le crime d’agression.

Le forum thématique traitera également des différents scénarii d’adaptation de la législation pénale nationale au statut de Rome à savoir :

  • L’intégration des dispositions adaptées au code pénal ;
  • La promulgation des dispositions adaptées par une loi spécifique par souci de cohérence juridique.

Sera également débattue la question d’arbitrage entre ces options.

Le forum thématique connaîtra la présentation des législations comparées notamment arabes et européennes. Un intérêt particulier sera accordé au projet de loi arabe type d’adaptation de la législation pénale nationale avec le droit international humanitaire.

Tels sont les principaux axes autour desquels s’articuleront les travaux de ce forum.    

Participeront à ce forum notamment  :

  • Le Conseiller Mohammed Amine Mehdi, ancien juge du Tribunal pénal international pour l’ex-Yougoslavie, ancien ministre de la justice transitionnelle et des affaires parlementaires (Egypte),
  • Le Général-Docteur Mohannad Hijazi,  Directeur de la justice militaire du Royaume de la Jordanie et membre de la Commission internationale du droit international humanitaire.
  • Le Dr. Cherif Atlam, Président de la Cour d’Appel et expert honoraire en droit international humanitaire près du Comité international de la Croix rouge.
  • Et le Professeur Mohammed Abdennabaoui, Directeur des Affaires pénales et de la grâce.(Maroc)