Concept Note of the Forum

In December 2013, the State Secretariat for Human Rights of the Presidency of the Republic of Brazil organized the First World Human Rights Forum (WHRF), with more than 5,000 participants from Brazil, Latin America as well as several countries, including Morocco.

This Successful forum was held twenty years after the Vienna World Conference on Human Rights in 1993.

Meanwhile, human rights values undergone a continuing universalization trend and are now a central component of international relations, with new treaties further strengthening international human rights law.

During this period, the United Nations system for the protection of fundamental human rights has significantly strengthened and renewed itself: the creation of the Human Rights Council, the adoption of the universal periodic review, the appointment of twenty-nine special procedure mandate holders, the entry into force of nine international instruments (two international conventions and seven optional protocols) are a testament to this.

Since Vienna, new regional bodies for the promotion and protection of human rights have emerged, while national human rights institutions, then in their infancy, have become dynamic actors with increasingly important roles.

At the same time, many national, regional and international non-governmental organizations, are increasingly professional and specialized, and have emerged as key stakeholders, bringing the voices of their societies and calling out the states to respect their international obligations. Over the past twenty years, new problems, previously unknown, have emerged and have challenged global awareness, while opposition to universalism has diversified and grown.

It is in this context of a globalized and interconnected world, that the forum in Brazil was held, confirming the need for a universal and brotherly space of dialogue and discussion between many stakeholders who are currently acting to respond to people's aspirations for dignity, equality and justice.

In the wake of this momentum, the second WHRF is held in Marrakesh at the end of November 2014.

As a follow-up to the first WHRF in Brasilia, the Marrakesh Forum will be composed of thematic forums. Their preparation and conduct are insuredby civil society networks, national human rights institutions, academic groups, etc.

The main conclusions will be presented at a final conference that will be attended by civil society, governments, NHRIs, representatives from the UN human rights system, international NGO's and international human rights experts and institutions who will be called upon to give their feedback, deliver messages, etc.

Training workshops can be proposed. The same applies to self-directed workshops to exchange good practices and experiences. New networks can also be set up, or lead to convergence assemblies.

Finally, a fair is organized on the social and solidarity economy, along with cultural events.

Several organizing bodies were set up, including an international monitoring committee, a national Moroccan secretariat, a local host committee in Marrakesh, an international preparatory committee (including all stakeholders involved) as well as an international scientific committee.

Présentation du Forum

Au mois de décembre 2013, le Secrétariat d’Etat aux droits de l’Homme de la présidence de la République du Brésil a organisé le Premier Forum mondial des droits de l’Homme (FMDH), avec plus de 5 000 participant-e-s du Brésil, d’Amérique latine mais aussi de plusieurs pays dont le Maroc.

Couronné de succès, ce forum s’est tenu vingt ans après la Conférence mondiale de Vienne sur les droits de l’Homme de 1993.

Entretemps, les valeurs des droits de l’Homme ont connu un mouvement d’universalisation continue et sont devenues une variable centrale des relations internationales, alors que de nouveaux traités venaient renforcer le droit international des droits de l’Homme.

Durant cette même période, le système des Nations unies en matière de protection des droits fondamentaux s’est significativement renforcé et s’est renouvelé : création du Conseil des droits de l’Homme, adoption de l’Examen périodique universel, désignation de vingt-neuf titulaires au titre des procédures spéciales, entrée en vigueur de neuf instruments internationaux (deux conventions internationales et sept protocoles facultatifs), …

Depuis Vienne, de nouvelles instances régionales de promotion et de protection des droits de l’Homme ont vu le jour, alors que les institutions nationales des droits de l’Homme, balbutiantes alors, se sont affirmées comme des acteurs dynamiques et au rôle de plus en plus important.

En même temps, de multiples organisations non gouvernementales nationales, régionales ou internationales, de plus en plus professionnelles et spécialisées, ont émergé et sont devenues des acteurs incontournables, faisant entendre la voix des sociétés et interpellant les Etats quant au respect de leurs engagements internationaux. En vingt ans aussi, de nouvelles problématiques, hier inconnues, ont émergé et interpellent la conscience mondiale alors que la contestation de l’universalisme s’est diversifiée et s’est amplifiée.

C’est dans ce contexte, largement renouvelé et dans un monde globalisé et connecté, que le forum de Brasilia s’est tenu, confirmant la nécessité d’un espace universel et fraternel de dialogue et d’échanges entre les multiples acteurs qui agissent aujourd’hui pour répondre aux aspirations des peuples pour le respect de leur dignité, l’égalité et la justice.

Dans le prolongement de cette dynamique, la deuxième édition du FMDH se tient à Marrakech à la fin novembre 2014.

Dans le prolongement de la première édition du Forum mondial des droits de l’Homme de Brasilia, le forum de Marrakech sera composé de forums thématiques, dont la préparation et le déroulement sont assurés par des réseaux d’acteurs de la société civile, à des institutions nationales des droits de l’Homme, des équipes académiques, …

Les principales conclusions seront présentées à une Conférence finale qui doit regrouper la société civile, les gouvernements, les INDH, les représentants du système international de protection des droits de l’Homme de l’ONU, les ONG internationales, et des figures et institutions internationales des droits de l’Homme, appelées à prendre la parole pour réagir, délivrer des messages, etc.

Des ateliers de formation peuvent être proposés. De même des ateliers autogérés d’échanges de bonnes pratiques et d’expériences ainsi que de mise en place de nouveaux réseaux peuvent être proposés, voire aboutir à des assemblées de convergence.

Enfin, une foire de l’économie sociale et solidaire est organisée, ainsi que des manifestations culturelles.

Plusieurs instances d’organisation ont été installées dont un comité de suivi international , un secrétariat national marocain, un Comité local d’accueil à Marrakech, un Comité international de préparation (regroupant tous les acteurs impliqués) ainsi qu’un Comité scientifique international.