Proceedings of the scientific committee's meeting of May 2014

1. Introductory statement

The meeting started with an address by Mr. Driss El Yazami, Chairman of the National Human Rights Council (Morocco), who highlighted some milestones in the twenty-year period between the Vienna Conference (1993) and that of Brasilia (2013). He put particular emphasis on the fact that the development of human rights globally occurred at several levels: 1) the desire to universalize these rights led to a rapid expansion of the international standard; 2) the United Nations well reflected this momentum through the development and adoption of new human rights standards; 3) national bodies, regional institutions and coordination networks proliferated; 4) new issues and challenges emerged, which the next world forums to be held in Morocco, Argentina and Colombia should deal with.

Mr. Driss El Yazami particularly stressed that by hosting the second World Forum on Human Rights, Morocco reiterates its willingness to contribute to the universalization and entrenchment of human rights in a region situated at a crossroads of continents (Africa and Europe) and cultures.

The second keynote address was delivered by Ms. Patricia Barcelos, Executive Secretary of the Human Rights Secretariat of the Presidency of the Republic of Brazil, in which she gave an overview of the Brazilian experience. She provided some general data on the first Forum that took four months of preparation, was attended by 14,000 participants from 64 countries, and mobilized 2000 persons locally as well as 700 Brazilian and foreign organizations.

She also described the manner of organizing the Forum into three main themes, each of which was the subject of three debates:

  1. Human rights as the peoples’ struggle flag;
  2. The universalization of human rights in a context of vulnerabilities;
  3. The transversality of human rights.

Ms. Patricia Barcelos put emphasis on two elements that contributed to the success of the Brasilia Forum: 1) mobilization, with the establishment of a dedicated committee that raised awareness among more than 700 organizations working in the field of human rights protection and promotion. This committee acted in close collaboration with embassies and the Foreign Affairs Ministry; 2) communication, whose strategy first targeted different groups as well as major human rights networks and social media.

The Forum’s organization took four months of preparation and featured, in addition to thematic conferences, over 400 activities self-organized by civil society organizations, a book fair and a large exhibition of solidarity economy.

Ms. Patricia Barcelos said that the keywords and paradigms of the Brazilian experience were democratic and participatory approach, integration, inclusion of the majority of civil society forces, and an egalitarian conception to involve as many stakeholders as possible. She also noted that the Forum should be designed as an evolutionary and perfectible process and not as a closed event. She expressed her willingness to work with Moroccan counterparts for the success of the second Forum in Marrakesh.

The third keynote address was made by Ms. Rabea Naciri, member of the National Human Rights Council (Morocco), who shed light on some of the issues that have been the focus of discussions among human rights researchers and advocates. She first noted the questioning/dilemma of the human rights issue since the 1948 Declaration: should we constantly strive to gain new rights in light of changes taking place in post-industrial societies or should we work for better effectiveness and consolidation of the rights acquired?

Ms. Rabea Naciri said that major mutations in modern and post-industrial societies impose new challenges that human rights thinking must address. This is particularly the case of the following issues:

  • Economic globalization and the emergence of the rule of giant transnational corporations that have dismantled the old socioeconomic balances built as part of the classical nation-state framework. Indeed, the movement of capital, goods and information conveys socioeconomic imbalances between different regions of the world, and sometimes within the same territory. Such shifts are often a source of frustration, violence and human mobility illustrated by the economic migration phenomena.
  • The developments in biology, medicine and especially in the field of assisted reproduction pose new problems in terms of bioethics. Also, the ongoing revolution in information and communication technologies has put humanity in network and raises the issue of the right to privacy and to its protection.
  • The demographic transition seen in some parts of Asia, Africa and Latin America, in the wake of Western Europe, North America and Japan, somehow universalizes social issues relating to aging populations, the rights of the elderly and the accommodations that contemporary societies must invent to manage, in dignity and equality, this profound social and anthropological mutation.

Concerning the themes likely to be analyzed and debated at the Marrakesh Forum, Ms. Rabea Naciri outlined a series of topics relating to both the theoretical issues of human rights thinking as well as the socioeconomic and cultural challenges of the modern world (see List of proposed topics).

2. Debate

After the three opening speeches, the participants (see the list of participants) engaged in a rich and deep debate on the following three points:

  • The concept of the World Forum on Human Rights: its necessity and its goals.
  • The Forum’s organization and methodology.
  • The theme of the Forum.

2.1 The concept of the World Forum on Human Rights

At the opening of the debate, some participants questioned the very concept of a World Forum of generic and general nature. Is the need for such a mode of organization and action justified, given the existence of thematic forums focused on specific human rights issues? What added value would it provide in comparison with social forums? Would it be an appropriate framework for advancing the cause of human rights (their universality, indivisibility and effectiveness)?

The answers to these questions raised by Mr. Mohamed Mokhtar Trifi, Honorary President of the Tunisian League for Human Rights, were diverse but all affirmed the need and usefulness of a “World Forum” for the universalization of human rights embodied in people’s realities and experiences. In the opinion of Mr. Abdelbasset Ben Hassan, President of the Arab Institute for Human Rights, the concept of “Forum” is effective, in the sense that, unlike other formulas, it provides an approach that does not dilute human rights. Rather, the concept of a global forum offers a unique opportunity to take stock of the current situation, measure progress and achievements in the field of human rights and assert their universality.

This is also the argument put forward by Mr. Mohamed Mabassa Fall, representative of the International Federation for Human Rights to the African Union. After having focused on institutional delays and deficiencies affecting human rights in Sub-Saharan Africa, he stressed that holding a Forum in Marrakesh would provide an opportunity to mobilize African NGOs and Sub-Saharan networks and involve them in the acceleration of human rights’ history, of which North Africa has been the scene in recent years. The Forum must be designed, according to Mr. Mabassa Fall, as a venue where different actors come to “give and take”.

It is also this ambition to give Africa and the MENA region a role as actors and producers in the world’s largest cycle of human rights which justifies, according to Mr. Abdelkader Zraih, the organization of the second World Forum in Marrakesh in November 2014.

Mr. Ricardo Espinoza, Chief of the NGO Liaison Unit of the Office of the Director General (United Nations Office at Geneva), underscored that the concept of “Forum” is an effective tool to overcome the rigidity of international instruments and allow greater participation of civil society in order to influence the future of human rights globally.

2.2 The Forum’s organization and methodology

Participants in the debate expressed their support for the general approach and methodology behind the organization of the first Forum in Brasilia, as they were explained by Ms. Patricia Barcelos. Following the Brazilian paradigms listed and summarized by Mr. Driss El Yazami, the Forum’s organization should be based on a participatory and inclusive approach (self-organized workshops by NGOs and regional and international networks); an approach that embodies democratization in action, with an emphasis on horizontality and the integration of all stakeholders (governments, NGOs, etc.) without hierarchy. Such principles should be put into practice at all stages of the Forum: design and preparation, organization and conduct.

The Forum, while aiming at accelerating the universalization of human rights, should seek to boost the reform process taking place in the MENA region and strengthen democracy. Therefore, it is necessary to include in the program, activities with a cross regional perspective (e.g. the issue of truth, memory and history that is of concern to various regions of the world).

Participants emphasized the importance of the preparation process that needs to have a specific structure (organizing committee), sufficient time (four months in the case of the first Forum), a dedicated structure tasked with mobilization to ensure the participation of all world regions. Particular attention should be devoted to communication, particularly the one which uses internet and social media and targets groups (human rights NGOs and networks).

In addition, the program should combine the formula “thematic conferences” and “activities or workshops self-organized” by civil society or even training schools targeting the youth. It would be better to include cultural and artistic activities (book fairs, movies, shows, etc.) and activities around solidarity and fair economy.

2.3 The Forum’s themes

The discussion first focused on the possibility of choosing a generic title for the 2nd Forum of Marrakesh which would reflect a strong and memorable theme. However, in response to multiple and diverse proposals, the participants opted for an open collection of themes, in a first phase, leaving the choice of the major theme and its subtopics to the next meeting in June 2014.

Below is the list of topics proposed by participants in this first Scientific Committee meeting:

  • The process of human rights universalization.
  • Human rights universality in the context of cultural relativism and the objection of cultural specificity.
  • Democracy and human rights: convergences and contradictions.
  • Civil and political rights/economic and social rights between the declaration of principle and political exploitation.
  • Right to self-determination/right to intervene: what borders from a human rights perspective?
  • How to rethink the issue of reservations to international conventions?
  • How to articulate culture, education and human rights in contemporary societies?
  • What about human rights awareness amid contemporary theoretical breakthroughs?
  • The issue of complaint mechanisms.
  • Access to justice: a challenge for human rights.
  • Human rights: how effective?
  • The right to difference or difference of rights: Human rights and the risk of particularism.
  • Truth, history and memory in light of human rights.
  • Human rights complementarity and subsidiarity at the different levels (national, regional and international).
  • The death penalty: a challenge for human rights advocates.
  • Gender equality and non-discrimination against women: achievements and obstacles.
  • Violence against women: what protection?
  • For an evaluation of human rights mechanisms.
  • How to ensure greater participation of civil society in international human rights mechanisms?
  • Complaint mechanisms.
  • The issue of protecting human rights defenders.
  • Security and human rights.
  • Human rights and youth exclusion: education, inclusion, autonomy.
  • Economic and social rights and the challenge of sustainable development.
  • Rethinking corporate responsibility in the context of a globalized economy.
  • The immigration/poverty nexus: what approach?
  • Life protection, bioethics and human rights.
  • Information/communication and the right to privacy.

Travaux de la réunion du Comité scientifique de Mai 2014

1. Les exposés introductifs

Les travaux ont débuté avec une série d’allocutions d’ouverture dont la première fut celle de M. Driss El Yazami, Président du conseil National des Droits de l’Homme (Maroc), qui a rappelé certains éléments marquant des vingt années séparant la conférence de Vienne (1993) et celle de Brasilia (2013). Il a notamment mis l’accent sur le fait que l’évolution des droits de l’Homme s’est déployée mondialement sur plusieurs niveaux : 1) une aspiration à l’universalisation de ces droits se traduisant par une expansion accélérée de la norme internationale, 2) le système des Nations Unies a bien illustré une telle dynamique avec l’élaboration et l’adoption de nouvelles normes en matière de droits de l’Homme, 3) la multiplication des instances nationales, des institutions régionales et des réseaux de coordination, 4) l’émergence de nouvelles problématiques et de défis inédits auxquels doivent faire face les prochains Forums mondiaux qui auront lieu au Maroc, en Argentine et en Colombie.

M. Driss El Yazami a notamment souligné qu’en accueillant le deuxième Forum mondial des droits de l’Homme, le Maroc réaffirme sa volonté de contribuer à l’universalisation des droits de l’Homme et à leur ancrage dans la région-carrefour à la croisée des continents (Afrique, Europe) et des cultures.

La seconde allocution introductive fut celle de Mme Patricia Barcelos, la Secrétaire exécutive du Secrétariat des Droits de l’Homme de la Présidence de la République du Brésil, dans laquelle elle a brossé un panorama de l’expérience brésilienne. Elle a notamment mis l’accent sur les données générales relatives au premier Forum qui a nécessité quatre mois de préparation, a connu la participation de 14.000 personnes appartenant à 64 pays, et a mobilisé une participation locale de 2000 personne accréditées ainsi que 700 organisations brésiliennes et étrangères.

Elle a aussi décrit le mode d’organisation des travaux du Forum réparti en trois grands axes thématiques dont chacun a donné lieu à trois débats :

  1. Les Droits de l’Homme comme étendard de la lutte des peuples ;
  2. L’universalisation des Droits de l’Homme et leur vulnérabilité :
  3. La transversalité des Droits de l’Homme.

Mme Patricia Barcelos a insisté dans son exposé sur deux éléments qui ont contribué à la réussite du Forum de Brasilia : 1) la mobilisation avec la mise sur pied d’un comité dédié à cette tâche, et qui a œuvré pour la sensibilisation de plus de 700 organisations travaillant dans le domaine de la protection et la promotion des Droits de l’Homme. Ce comité a notamment agi en étroite collaboration avec les ambassades et le Ministère des affaires étrangères. 2) Lacommunication dont la stratégie a d’abord ciblé les différents groupes, ainsi que les grands réseaux actifs dans le domaine des Droits de l’Homme, sans oublier les réseaux sociaux sur le web.

Quant à l’organisation du Forum, elle a nécessité quatre mois de préparation, et a connu, outre les conférences thématiques, plus de 400 activités autogérées par les organisations des sociétés civiles, une foire des livres et une grande exposition d’économie solidaire.

Par ailleurs, les mots clés et les paradigmes de l’expérience brésilienne, furent, selon Mme Patricia Barcelos : l’approche démocratique et participative, l’intégration, l’inclusionde la majorité des forces des sociétés civiles, et une conception égalitaire visant à impliquer le plus grand nombre d’acteurs. Elle a également noté qu’il faudrait concevoir le Forum comme un processus évolutif, perfectible et non pas comme un événement clos. Et a exprimé sa volonté d’œuvrer avec ses collègues marocains pour la réussite du second Forum à Marrakech.

Le troisième exposé introductif a été celui de Mme Rabéa Naciri, membre du Conseil National des Droits de l’Homme (Maroc), qui a axé son propos sur quelques-unes des questions qui font débats parmi les chercheurs et les défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme. Elle a noté, en premier lieu, le questionnement/dilemme inhérent à la problématique des Droits de l’Homme depuis la déclaration de 1948 : faut-il œuvrer constamment pour la conquête de nouveaux droits en fonction des mutations que connaissent les sociétés post-industrielles ou faut-il travailler pour une meilleure effectivité et une consolidation des droits acquis ?

Pour Mme Rabéa Naciri les grandes mutations des sociétés modernes et post-industrielles, imposent de nouveaux défis que la pensée des Droits de l’Homme doit s’approprier et y apporter des éléments de réponse. C’est le cas notamment des problématiques suivantes :

  • La globalisation économique et l’émergence du règne d’entreprises géantes et transnationales qui bouleversent les vieux équilibres socio-économiques construit dans le cadre classique de l’Etat-nation. En effet, à la circulation des capitaux, des marchandises et des informations correspondent des déséquilibres socio-économiques entre différentes régions du monde, et parfois à l’intérieur d’un même territoire. De tels décalages sont souvent source de frustration, de violence et de mobilité humaine qu’illustrent les phénomènes de migration à caractère économique.
  • Les évolutions en matière de biologie, de médecine et notamment dans le domaine de la procréation médicalement assistée, posent des problématiques nouvelles en termes de bioéthique. De même que la révolution continue des moyens d’information et de communication met l’humanité en réseau et pose ainsi la problématique du droit à la vie privée et de sa protection.
  • La transition démographique que connaît une partie de l’humanité en Asie, Afrique et Amérique latine, dans le sillage de l’Europe occidentale, Amérique du Nord et Japon, universalise d’une certaine manière les problématiques sociales liées au vieillissement des populations, aux droits des personnes âgées et aux accommodements que les sociétés contemporaines doivent inventer pour gérer dans la dignité et l’égalité cette profonde mutation sociale et anthropologique.

Quant aux thématiques susceptibles de faire l’objet d’analyses et de débats lors du Forum de Marrakech, Mme Rabéa Naciri a esquissé une série de sujets se rapportant aussi bien aux questions théoriques qui se posent à la pensée des Droits de l’Homme, qu’aux défis socio-économiques et culturels du monde moderne (voir : liste des thèmes proposés).

2. Le débat

Après les trois allocutions d’ouverture a eu lieu un débat riche et profond auquel ont contribué tous les participants (voir la liste des personnes qui ont pris part à la réunion). Ce débat a porté sur les trois points suivants :

  • Le concept du Forum mondial des Droits de l’Homme : sa nécessité et ses finalités.
  • Les modes d’organisation et la méthodologie du Forum.
  • Les thématiques du Forum.

2.1. Le concept du Forum mondial

A l’ouverture du débat, certains participants n’ont pas hésité à interroger le concept même d’un Forum mondial de nature générique et générale. Le besoin et la nécessité d’un tel mode d’organisation et d’action se justifient-ils eu égard aux Forums thématiques axés sur telle ou telle question des Droits de l’Homme ? Qu’apporterait-il comme valeur ajoutée en comparaison avec les forums sociaux ? Et serait-il le cadre adéquat pour faire avancer la cause des Droits de l’Homme (leur universalité, leur indivisibilité et leur effectivité) ?

Les réponses à ces interrogations lancées par M. Mohamed Mokhtar Trifi, le Président d’honneur de la Ligue tunisienne des Droits de l’Homme, étaient diverses, mais allaient toutes dans le sens d’une affirmation de la nécessité et l’utilité de la formule « Forum mondial » pour l’universalisation des Droits de l’Homme incarnée dans les réalités et le vécu des personnes. La formule « Forum » est efficace, aux yeux de Abdelbasset Ben Hassen, Président de l’Institut arabe des Droits de l’Homme, dans le sens où elle permet une approche qui, contrairement aux autres formules, ne dilue pas les Droits de l’Homme. Bien au contraire la formule Forum mondial offre l’occasion unique de faire le point, de dresser l’état des lieux, de mesurer les avancées et les réalisations en matière des Droits de l’Homme et d’affirmer leur universalité.

C’est également l’argument avancé par M. Fall Mabassa Mouhamed, représentant de la Fédération internationale des Droits de l’Homme auprès de l’Union africaine, qui, après avoir mis l’accent sur les retards et carences institutionnels dont souffrent les Droits de l’Homme en Afrique sub-saharienne, a souligné qu’un Forum à Marrakech serait l’occasion de mobiliser les ONG africaines, les réseaux actifs au sud du Sahara et les faire participer ainsi au mouvement d’accélération de l’histoire des Droits de l’Homme dont l’Afrique du nord est le théâtre depuis quelques années. Le Forum doit être conçu, selon M. Mabassa, comme un cadre où les différents acteurs viennent pour « donner et recevoir ».

C’est aussi ce souci de faire accéder le continent africain et la région MENA en tant qu’acteurs et producteurs dans le grand cycle mondial des Droits de l’Homme qui justifie, selon Abdelkader Zraih, la tenue du second Forum mondial dans la ville de Marrakech en novembre 2014.

De son côté, Ricardo Espinoza, chef du département des relations avec les ONG et la société civile au cabinet du directeur général (Bureau des Nations Unies à Genève) voit dans la formule « Forum » un outil efficace pour contourner la rigidité des instruments internationaux et permettre une plus grande participation des sociétés civiles en vue de peser sur le devenir des Droits de l’Homme dans le monde.

2.2. Les modes d’organisation et la méthodologie du Forum

Les participants au débat ont manifesté leur adhésion à la philosophie générale et à la méthodologie qui ont présidé à l’organisation du premier Forum de Brasilia, telles qu’elles furent explicitées par Mme Patricia Barcelos. Suivant les paradigmes brésiliens repris et résumés par M. Driss El Yazami, le mode d’organisation du Forum doit s’appuyer sur une démarche participative et inclusive (les ateliers autogérés par les ONG et les réseaux régionaux et internationaux) ; une démarche qui incarne la démocratisation à l’œuvre, en privilégiant l’horizontalité, l’intégration de tous les acteurs (gouvernements, ONG, etc.) sans hiérarchisation. De tels principes doivent être mis en pratique à tous les stades : la conception et la préparation du Forum, son organisation et son déroulement.

Quant à sa finalité, le Forum, tout en visant une accélération de l’universalisation des Droits de l’Homme, il devait avoir le souci de donner un coup de pouce aux processus de réforme que connait la région (Afrique du Nord, et Moyen-Orient) et au renforcement de la démocratie. D’où la nécessité de prévoir la programmation d’activité inscrite dans une perspective régionale transversale (exemple : la question de la vérité, la mémoire et l’histoire qui intéresse diverses régions du monde).

Les participants ont mis l’accent sur l’importance du processus de préparation qui doit se doter d’une structure spécifique (comité d’organisation), d’un temps suffisant (quatre mois dans le cas du 1er Forum), d’une structure dédiée à la tâche de mobilisation en vue d’assurer la participation de toutes les régions du monde. Une attention particulière doit être accordée à la communication notamment celle qui utilise l’Internet, les réseaux sociaux et qui cible les groupes (ONG et réseaux qui travaillent dans le domaine des Droits de l’Homme).

Par ailleurs, la programmation gagnerait à combiner la formule « conférences thématiques » et celle des « activités ou ateliers autogérés » par les organisations de la société civile, voire aussi des écoles de formation ciblant la jeunesse. De même qu’il faudrait inclure des activités culturelles et artistiques (Foire des livres, films, spectacles, etc.) et des activités autour de l’économie solidaire et équitable.

3. Thématiques du Forum

Le débat a d’abord porté sur la possibilité de choisir un titre générique pour le 2ème Forum de Marrakech, qui traduirait une thématique forte et marquante. Mais face à la multiplicité et la diversité des propositions des uns et des autres, les participants ont opté pour une collecte ouverte des thèmes, dans une première phase, en laissant le choix de la grande thématique et de ses axes à la prochaine réunion de juin 2014.

Voici ci-après la liste des thèmes proposés par les participants à cette première réunion du comité scientifique :

  • Les processus d’universalisation des Droits de l’Homme.
  • Universalité des Droits de l’Homme à l’épreuve du relativisme culturel et l’objection de la spécificité culturelle.
  • Démocratie et Droits de l’Homme : convergences et antagonismes.
  • Droits civiles et politiques/droits économiques et sociaux entre déclaration de principe et instrumentalisation politique.
  • Droit à l’autodétermination/droit d’ingérence : quelles frontières du point de vue des Droits de l’Homme ?
  • Comment repenser la question des réserves relatives aux conventions internationales ?
  • Comment articuler culture, éducation et Droits de l’Homme dans les sociétés contemporaines ?
  • Qu’en est-il de la connaissance des Droits de l’Homme ? à propos des percées théoriques contemporaines.
  • De la problématique des mécanismes de recours.
  • L’accès à la justice : un chantier pour les Droits de l’Homme.
  • Droits de l’Homme : quelle effectivité ?
  • Droit à la différence ou différence des droits : Droits de l’Homme et le risque du particularisme.
  • Vérité, histoire et mémoire à la lumière des Droits de l’Homme.
  • Droits de l’Homme entre complémentarité et subsidiarité aux différents niveaux (national, régional et international).
  • La peine de mort : un chantier pour les défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme.
  • L’égalité de genre et la non-discrimination à l’égard des femmes : les acquis et les obstacles.
  • Violences à l’égard des femmes : quelle protection ?
  • Pour une évaluation des mécanismes des Droits de l’Homme.
  • Comment garantir une plus grande participation des sociétés civiles aux mécanismes internationaux des Droits de l’Homme ?
  • Les mécanismes de recours.
  • Problématique de la protection des défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme.
  • La sécurité et les Droits de l’Homme.
  • Droits de l’Homme et l’exclusion des jeunes : éducation, inclusion, autonomie.
  • Droits économiques et sociaux et le défi du développement durable.
  • Repenser la responsabilité des entreprises dans le cadre d’une économie globalisée.
  • Le couple immigration/pauvreté : quelle approche ?
  • Protection de la vie, bioéthique et Droits de l’Homme.
  • Le tout information/communication et le droit à une vie privée protégée.