The City and Human Rights

Men and women are at the heart of the city. As citizens and stakeholders of the city, they are entitled to dignity, to a decent life and to access to essential services, including education, health, housing, employment, public transportation and security. All of which are included in the right to the city.

These rights are protected by national regulatory frameworks (Article 31 of the Moroccan Constitution of 2011) and international ones such as the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the 1966 Covenants and declarations on environment and sustainable development (United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development, Rio +20, 2012), the Millennium development goals and the post-2015 development Agenda.

The thriving of human beings in general and the city in particular is symbolized by the relationship between citizenship and sustainable development; when put into practice, this relationship reconciles economic, social and environmental dimensions. All this is in the context of inclusive development based on the principle of non-discrimination, equality opportunity and treatment, and the participation of all men and women to a citizen city project.

The Context of the Thematic

The issue of Human Rights in the City is a result of the international debate that was translated in the claim for the "right to the city." This claim has gained prominence in the 1990s around the recognition of cities as collective spaces playing a key role in the guarantee of human rights, through equitable access to basic services, and as agents responsible for local development policies. This process resulted in the adoption of various local charters of human rights:

  • European Charter for the Safeguarding of Human Rights in the city of Saint-Denis - France, 2000, signed by more than 350 European cities;
  • The World Charter on the Right to the City, drafted by social movements gathered in the World Social Forum in Porto Alegre, Brazil (2001);
  • The Charter of Rights and Responsibilities of Montreal, Canada (2006);
  • The Mexico City Charter for the Right to the City (2010).
  • The Kwangju Human Rights Charter (South Korea, 2012).

The Global Charter-Agenda for Human Rights in the City, which “aims to promote and strengthen the human rights of all people in all the cities around the world." (Cities and Local Governments - UCLG Committee on Social Inclusion, Participatory Democracy and Human rights, 2011), represents today one of the internationally unifying frameworks to operationalize human rights in the city through action plans. The charter-Agenda aims to produce tools for local governments to promote and build more inclusive, democratic and solidarity-based societies by involving the people in a participatory approach.

Local Governments and Human Rights

Local governments play an active role in the protection and promotion of human rights, in their capacity as representatives of the people and by the mandate of managing local affairs entrusted to them by the voters. In this regard, they are called to promote and strengthen the interdependence between the principles of human rights and local democracy.

In this context, the Agenda 21, a result of the Earth Summit (Rio, 1992) and confirmed by Rio + 20 - "The Future We Want", calls officials and elected local government to develop tools for the development, implementation, monitoring and evaluation of local public policies. This intervention framework, closely related to the objectives of sustainable development, provides an operational reference framework of territorial development, in order to achieve the following results:

  • Ensuring social justice by: (i) the fulfillment of men and women; (ii) solidarity between regions; (iii) and respect for diversity;
  • Economic efficiency for an innovative, prosperous and responsible economy;
  • Environmental protection to ensure health and safety for communities and citizens and the preservation of biodiversity and resources.

These principles are designed to provide local authorities with tools for inclusive local policies integrating all stakeholders, especially women and youth. They must be evaluated to measure achievements and progress on levels of respect and implementation of human rights at the local, regional and national levels.

This framework for action must have as its corollary a participatory system of governance, in which local projects’ stakeholders, elected local officials, local authorities, associations and citizens can develop a synergy work and acquire ownership of the process. This framework is expected to be available in operational plans for local development, to promote productive, inclusive and sustainable societies.

Objective of the Workshop

To promote and strengthen the principles of human rights throughout the city, for a shared city project in the framework of participatory local democracy, for economically productive, socially inclusive and environmentally sustainable cities.

Expected Results

  • To raise awareness and mobilize stakeholders in local development around the issue of human rights in the policies of the city, in order to improve the conditions of life of citizens and participation in a collective territorial project.
  • To advocate the necessity of including human rights in the urban policy-making before the local institutions and the proponents of human rights in order to achieve equitable, inclusive and sustainable cities.
  • To agree on the content and methods of implementation of instruments on human rights in the city, based on reference texts.
  • To share the best practices of human rights in the city, to ensure their appropriation and dissemination, through the exchange of experiences and national and international cooperation.
  • To adopt recommendations for the development of normative frameworks of human rights in the city, and their integration into public policy.

Ville et les droits de l’Homme

Les hommes et les femmes sont au cœur de la Cité. Citoyens et acteurs de la ville, ils ont droit à la dignité, à un cadre de vie décent et à l’accès aux services essentiels, notamment l’éducation, la santé, le logement, l’emploi, les transports publics et la sécurité. Autant d’éléments qui participent du droit à la ville.

Ces droits sont protégés par des cadres normatifs nationaux (l’article 31 de la Constitution marocaine de 2011) et internationaux tels que la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’Homme, les pactes de 1966 et les déclarations sur l’environnement et le développement durable (Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement durable, Rio+20, 2012), les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le Développement et l’Agenda du développement post-2015.

L’épanouissement de l’être humain en général et dans la Cité en particulier est symbolisé par l’articulation entre citoyenneté et développement durable, dont la mise en œuvre concilie la dimension économique, sociale et environnementale. Ceci dans le cadre d’un développement inclusif basé sur le principe de non-discrimination, l’égalité des chances et de traitement, et la participation de tous, hommes et femmes, à un projet de ville citoyen.

Le contexte de la thématique

La problématique des droits de l’Homme dans la Ville résulte du débat international qui a pris forme dans la revendication du « droit à la ville », qui a gagné en importance dans les années 1990 autour de l’affirmation des villes comme espaces collectifs garants des droits humains, à travers l’équitable accès aux services de base, et responsables des politiques de développement local. Ce processus s’est traduit par l’adoption de nombre de chartes locales des droits humains :

  • Charte européenne pour la sauvegarde des droits de l’Homme dans la ville, Saint-Denis – France, 2000, signée par plus de 350 villes européennes ;
  • Charte mondiale du droit à la ville, rédigée par des mouvements sociaux réunis au Forum social mondial de Porto Alegre – Brésil, 2001 ;
  • Charte des droits et responsabilités de Montréal, Canada, 2006 ;
  • Charte de la ville de Mexico pour le droit à la ville, Mexico, 2010 ;
  • Charte des droits humains de Gwangju, Corée du Sud, 2012.

La Charte-agenda mondiale des droits de l’Homme dans la cité, qui « a pour objectif de promouvoir et de renforcer les droits de l’Homme de tous les habitants dans toutes les cités à travers le monde » (Cités et Gouvernements Locaux Unis – CGLU, Commission Inclusion sociale, démocratie participative et droits humains, 2011), représente aujourd’hui l’un des cadres fédérateurs à l’échelle internationale pour opérationnaliser, à travers des plans d’action, les droits humains dans la Cité. Cette charte vise notamment à produire des instruments au service des gouvernements locaux et à promouvoir la construction de sociétés davantage inclusives, démocratiques et solidaires, par l’association des populations selon une démarche participative.

Collectivités territoriales et droits de l’Homme

Les collectivités territoriales ont un rôle actif à jouer en matière de protection et de promotion des droits de l’Homme, en leur qualité de représentants des citoyens et de par le mandat de gestion des affaires locales dont elles sont investies par les électeurs. Elles sont à cet égard appelées à favoriser et renforcer les liens d’interdépendance entre les principes des droits de l’Homme et de la démocratie locale.

Dans ce cadre, l’Agenda 21 tel que résultant du Sommet de la Terre (Rio, 1992) et confirmé par Rio+20 – « L’Avenir que nous voulons », préconise aux responsables et aux élus territoriaux de se doter d’outils d’élaboration, de mise en œuvre, de suivi et d’évaluation des politiques publiques locales. Ce cadre d’intervention, étroitement lié aux objectifs du développement durable, offre un cadre de référence opérationnel du développement territorial, en vue des résultats suivants :

  • La garantie de la justice sociale par : (i) l’épanouissement des hommes et des femmes ; (ii) la solidarité entre les territoires ; (iii) le respect de la diversité ;
  • L’efficience économique pour une économie innovante, prospère et responsable ;
  • La protection de l’environnement pour garantir aux communautés et aux citoyens la santé et la sécurité ainsi que la préservation de la biodiversité et des ressources.

Ces principes ont pour objet de fournir aux autorités territoriales des instruments pour des politiques publiques locales inclusives intégrant toutes les parties prenantes, notamment les femmes et les jeunes. Ils doivent faire l’objet d’une évaluation pour mesurer les réalisations et les progrès sur les niveaux de respect et de mise en œuvre des droits de l’Homme à l’échelle locale, régionale et nationale.

Ce cadre d’intervention doit avoir pour corollaire un système de gouvernance participatif, dans lequel les acteurs des projets territoriaux, élus, autorités locales, associations et citoyens, puissent développer un travail de synergie et s’en approprier la démarche. Ce cadre est appelé à être décliné en plans de développement locaux opérationnels, destinés à promouvoir des territoires productifs, inclusifs et durables.

Objectif de l’atelier

Promouvoir et renforcer les principes des droits de l’Homme à l’échelle de la Cité, pour un projet de ville partagé, dans le cadre de la démocratie locale participative, pour des villes productives économiquement, inclusives socialement et durables environnementalement.

Résultats attendus

  • Sensibiliser et mobiliser les acteurs au développement local autour de la question des droits de l’Homme dans les politiques de la ville, en vue de l’amélioration des conditions de vie des citoyens et de la participation à un projet de territoire collectif.
  • Engager un plaidoyer auprès des acteurs institutionnels et des acteurs œuvrant pour les droits de l’Homme sur la nécessité d’adopter l’approche des droits humains dans les politiques de planification urbaine, pour des villes équitables, inclusives et durables.
  • S’accorder sur les contenus et modalités de mise en œuvre des instruments relatifs aux droits de l’Homme dans la Cité, sur la base des textes s’y rapportant.
  • Partager les bonnes pratiques des droits de l’Homme dans la Cité, en vue de leur appropriation et de leur diffusion, dans le cadre des échanges d’expériences et de la coopération, nationale et internationale.
  • Adopter des recommandations en vue de l’élaboration de cadres normatifs en matière de droits de l’Homme dans la Cité, et de leur intégration dans les politiques publiques.